Close

Hayden

Posted on: in [ Career Change Dogs ]

My name is Hayden and I am two years old. I came from Retrieving Freedom's in-house breeding program. My mom's name is Hope, and she was raised by the Carpenter Family. My dad's name is Cotton and he is from Yellow Rose Labradors. I was raised in a correctional facility in Coralville, IA and spent time as a puppy going into many different weekend foster homes to work on my public skills. 
 
During my training to become a service dog, I was a fan favorite! I attended many different programs to promote all of the good things that a service dog can do for individuals. Later on in my training, I was diagnosed with a medical condition which unfortunately meant I could no longer be a service dog for someone.
 
I will now spend my days as a therapy dog! My new mom works as an elementary school teacher and I get to go to work with her every day and help kids learn to read. This is the perfect job for me, as I am very patient and will never judge someone if they are having a hard time reading. I look forward to my new role and getting to meet many new people and spend many years with my loving forever home.  
 
 

Hayden's Journey

Stage 1 Introduction

Hi, my name is Hayden. I am proud to have been selected to enter into the Retrieving Freedom training program. My parents are "Cotton" and "Hope" From Yellow Rose Labradors in Texas. During this stage of training I will be spending approximately 8 months with my new volunteer foster, a handler at the Iowa Medical and Classification Center. During this time I will learn the basics of citizenship, public behavior, and basic obedience.

I understand that it takes a very special dog to complete the program, as there is a high standard to become an official service dog at Retrieving Freedom. I am aware that I may be one of the dogs whose purpose is outside of service work so I will be updating my profile on a monthly basis for all who would like to follow my journey through the program.

May 2018 - 3 months old
October 2019 - 17 months old


 

0 comments

Youtube